Hello World

I reckon it’s wise to ramble about my current works; めんどくさいだけど、at the very least I will gain some more familiarity, and thus competence, even if only marginally. まあ、どうてもいいから、let me just get started.

So slathering PDMS onto a piece of cloth just doesn’t seem to cut it for a strain sensor. WL suggested that I put some water onto the fabric and then PDMS atop it, and see what happens after a little while of baking in the oven. Errr, yah, sounds kinda funny, I didn’t see this oven thing coming either some time ago, but sure I hadn’t and anyway haven’t known much about wet lab, except that I don’t particularly like wet-lab work very much.

As of now I’m finding some other ways of putting CNT onto the weave-y structure of a common fabric, so I’m reading this review :

Analytical applications of carbon nanotubes: a review

What happens to the copy-pasted font LOL? NVM that, kinda save some time decorating and putting links up for you and future me to find if you wanna read too.

I think i’m looking at a wrong journal, but let’s not dismiss everything too quickly.

Alcohol detection using carbon nanotubes acoustic and optical sensors.

This paper may have some inspiring method I can use. Sure, it seems pretty irrelevant, but come on, dude, no harm trying. Ciao.

***

First idea, the last paper suggested Languir-Blodgett  method which this paper

Manipulation of single-wall carbon nanotubes into aligned molecular layers

uses, but anyway they do it on flat surfaces. I think I should find more specific papers that describe deposition of CNT on a fabric. Is there even such papers I wonder. Anyway I will consult JY about it.

Second idea: dip a sewing thread into CNT solution, weave it into the fabric. Ehh.. I guess I got horribly offtrack here. Stretchability of CNT on PDMS is due to the PDMS, and the CNT just get pulled along as PDMS stretches. Now, now if I sew a CNT-thread, thread being solid, there shouldn’t be stretchability to talk about. My bad my bad, what was I even thinking about. But I think this is an interesting point. If I want to utilise CNT change of resistance with mechanical stretch, I should disperse CNT over different grid in the weave-mesh of a piece of fabric. Seems like there ought to be a film layer there. Or maybe not? Just keep that in mind.

 

Leave a Reply

